Upcoming Elections

Past Elections
Cote d'Ivoire-28 Nov 2010
Niger-31 Jan 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2008
Malawi-20 May 2014
Mozambique-28 Oct 2009
Namibia-27 Nov 2009
Mauritania-18 Jul 2009
Botswana-16 Oct 2009
Togo-04 Mar 2010
Guinea-27 Jun 2010
Comoros-11 Oct 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2012
Egypt-31 Dec 2015
Tanzania-25 Oct 2015
Central African Republic -27 Dec 2015
Cape Verde -28 Aug 2016

About AEP
The African Elections Project :  your authoritative African Elections Information and Knowledge online portal, covering elections across the continent

Projecto Eleições Africanas: seu portal autorizado para informação e conhecimento sobre Eleições Africanas. Cobrindo eleições por toda Áfrca.

Le projet sur les elections en Afrique: votre portail exclusif et credible d'information et de connaissance en ligne, qui couvre les élections à travers le continent
Fact Sheets

Namibia was called South West Africa until independence in 1990. The country had its first elections in 1990, which is four general elections since independence. The president is elected for a five-year term by the people. Parliament has two chambers. The National Assembly has 78 members, elected for a five-year term, 72 members elected by proportional representation and 6 members appointed by the president. The National Council has 26 members, elected for a six-year term in double-seat constituencies (regions).
At independence, Namibia adopted a constitution as a fundamental law of the country. The constitution characterized the country as a republic that is a sovereign, secular, democratic and unitary state. Although regular elections were held in Namibia prior to independence (in 1990), these elections were run on exclusionist basis for separate administrative authorities of whites and blacks at various level of government. In actual fact, no common roll existed prior to independence. As a result, the independence elections in December 1989 were run without a national voter register. The basis of the legal and operational framework for these elections was agreed upon among the stakeholders: the South African government, the UN and political parties. This framework provided for, among other things, that the South African government would administer and conduct the elections while the United Nations Transition Assistance Group (UNTAG) would monitor and satisfy itself with the process and eventually pronounce itself on free-ness and fairness of the process.

Date of election: - 27th November, 2009
Presidential Election Results - SWAPO (Hifikepunye Pohamba) 76.42%
RDP (Hidipo Hamutenya) 11.08%
Type of election - Presidential and Parliamentary

Political Parties
Democratic Turnhalle Alliance
DTA of Namibia, Monitor Action Group (MAG)
Namibia Democratic Movement for Change
Republican Party (RP)
National Unity Democratic Organisation
(Nudo of Namibia)
United Democratic Front (UDF)
The Namibia Democratic Movement for Change
The National Democratic Party (NDP)
South West Africa National Union (Swanu’s)
Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN)
All People’s Party (APP)
Congress of Democrats (CoD)
Democratic Party of Namibia (DPN

Electoral commission: - Namibia Electoral Commission (ECN) www.ecn.gov.na

Voter statistics
12 Presidential candidates
72 seats in parliament
1.1m registered voters

key election websites


Connect With Us

Elections In Africa Calendar

Elections In Africa-Facts Sheet
» Guinea
» Tanzania
» Madagascar
» Malawi
» Mozambique
» Namibia


Support Us
Help support the work of Penplusbytes
by making a donation through PayPal

(c)2023 www.africanelections.org | About us | Ghana | Guinea |Togo | Cote d'Ivoire | Malawi |Niger |Mauritania|Namibia||Botswana |Mozambique|Partners | Contact us