Elections In Africa - News In Brief

Upcoming Elections

Past Elections
Cote d'Ivoire-28 Nov 2010
Niger-31 Jan 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2008
Malawi-20 May 2014
Mozambique-28 Oct 2009
Namibia-27 Nov 2009
Mauritania-18 Jul 2009
Botswana-16 Oct 2009
Togo-04 Mar 2010
Guinea-27 Jun 2010
Comoros-11 Oct 2011
Ghana-07 Dec 2012
Egypt-31 Dec 2015
Tanzania-25 Oct 2015
Central African Republic -27 Dec 2015
Cape Verde -28 Aug 2016
About AEP
The African Elections Project :  your authoritative African Elections Information and Knowledge online portal, covering elections across the continent

Projecto Eleições Africanas: seu portal autorizado para informação e conhecimento sobre Eleições Africanas. Cobrindo eleições por toda Áfrca.

Le projet sur les elections en Afrique: votre portail exclusif et credible d'information et de connaissance en ligne, qui couvre les élections à travers le continent
Date:05 Aug 2011
Cape Verde to chose new president on Sunday 7th August

Cape Verdeans will go to the polls to choose a new leader as Pedro Pires steps down after two terms since the constitution does not allow a third term for a president.

Four candidates will have their names on the ballot papers.

The candidates are Jaime Joaquim Monteiro, independent Djack Monteiro, Manuel Inocencio Sousa, PAICV's official candidate, Jorge Carlos Fonseca, supported by the Movement for Democracy (MPD) and Aristides Lima, which has the support of Independent Cape Verdean Union Democratic (UCID) and the Party of Labour and Solidarity (PTS), as well as a part of the PAICV.

Polls are expected to be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday and a total of over 300,000 voters are registered and are expected to cast their votes for the presidential election, including 36,934 in the Diaspora. The AU team of 13 observers from several African countries is led by Congolese Pascal Gayama, former Deputy Secretary General of the AU. In addition to the AU mission, Sunday’s election in Cape Verde will be supervised by 11 observers from the United States and ECOWAS.

Pedro Pires was elected in 2001 and re-elected in 2006 and is standing down after the Sunday elections.

Connect With Us

Elections In Africa Calendar

Elections In Africa-Facts Sheet